Experimenting with old recipes

Standard

I lost .4 lbs yesterday so I would say tomatoes definitely passed. I’m also very glad that I had so much avocado yesterday! I looked at the sodium content for the chicken broth and it was unbelievable! 1 cup of broth is about 20% of daily value! I guess that rules out any possibility of a chicken noodle-less soup. Between the broth and the celery I think I would hit my daily limit!

Omlet Plan

This morning I made a delicious omelet! My husband is a pro at making them and I guess I learned a thing or two from watching him. It had kale, mushrooms and herb goat cheese in it. I also cooked it in coconut oil because Aldi sells that now!

For lunch I knew that I was not having an animal protein for dinner so I decided to go ahead and eat the chicken tortilla-less soup. I had a salad with blueberries and pumpkin seeds. I made a vinaigrette that I modified from a recipe book. 1/4 a cup of olive oil, 1/4 cup of apple cider, 3 tbsp of apple cider vinegar and 1 clove of garlic. (the original recipe called for mustard too, but I haven’t tested that yet.)

Tortilla-less soup and blueberry salad

Dinner was a new take on an old fave. My husband loved the recipe and I realized that with a few changes I could make it for myself too! I substituted spaghetti squash for pasta (for me). I didn’t eat any bacon, but I did use bacon grease for sauteing the onions and mushrooms. I used manchego instead of parmesan (although I would have been fine with parmesan). I plan on making spaghetti squash pad thai tomorrow when my husband is in class and therefore not eating with me :D. I think this is the fun part which is finding exciting and delicious recipes that fit my body’s requirements and my family’s preferences.

Spaghetti squash carbonara Spaghetti squash cooked the right way

I read a blog post which talked about the right way to cook spaghetti squash. Apparently, the spaghetti is in rings so when you cut the squash in half length wise it essentially cuts the rings into halves.

Leave a Reply

